Holy Days
There are eleven holy days on the Bahá'í calendar, which is divided into 19 months of 19 days each per year. On these days, Bahá'ís are urged to suspend work and school, and spend the day with family and community. The remaining four intercalary days (five in a leap year), called Ayyám-i-Há, are set aside for visits and gift-giving.

The 9 holy days when work should be suspended are:
• New Year (the vernal equinox, known as Naw-Rúz).
• First Day of Ridván
• Ninth Day of Ridván
• Twelfth Day of Ridván
• Declaration of the Báb
• Ascension (Death) of Bahá’u’lláh
• Martyrdom of the Báb
• Birth of the Báb
• Birth of Bahá’u’lláh

The Ridván festival marks the anniversary of Bahá’u’lláh’s first declaration of his mission in 1863.

The other 2 holy days are considered minor holidays when work is not suspended:
• Day of the Covenant
• Passing of 'Abdu’l-Bahá

Nineteen Day Feast
A three-part gathering held every 19 days, on the first day of each Bahá'í month. All Bahá'ís are encouraged to attend. The Feast always contains three elements: spiritual devotion, administrative consultation, and social fellowship.

Home     Contact   Site Map    Web Support

© The Local Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'ís of Ottawa, Canada